Cross

纪念

开拓型建筑师,企业家,艺术家和慈善家约翰·波特曼二世和约翰·波特曼三世(杰克)改变了世界各地很多城市的天际线,影响了亚特兰大和海外各地很多人的生活。对于他们的过世,我们深感悲痛,但我们将荣幸地把他们的成就和对他们的追忆继续传承下去.

约翰.波特曼二世

1924年12月4日 – 2017年12月29日

约翰·波特曼富于创新的建筑设计是世界公认的,他并不总是遵循传统习惯,而是热衷于尝试新的概念,在他职业生涯的早期,他是建筑师兼房地产开发商的先驱,这使得他获得了更多的自由以实施他的设计概念。他敏锐的商业眼光和经营理念使他开发了许多盈利的项目。

在这里阅读更多

他对故乡亚特兰大的影响最大,迄今已拥有14个街区的桃树中心证明了他对市中心商业区的承诺,其中包括了其许多标志性项目。桃树中心建于1960年,以亚特兰大商品市场开业作为标志。自此以后,商品市场已发展成美国展销中心,全世界最大的独立批发市场。通过刺激贸易和旅游,波特曼是亚特兰大成为全美最佳会议城市之一的催化剂。他的三座主要的市中心酒店,凯悦摄政酒店,威斯汀桃树广场酒店和万豪酒店,都位于会议区。凯悦摄政酒店1967年开业以来,凭着其22层中庭,波特曼创造了建筑历史并赢得了国际声誉。纽约时报的Paul Goldberger先生曾这样评价:“他(波特曼)是唯一一位在他的时代里不仅创造了一系列历史性的建筑,同时又开创了一种新的城市风格的建筑师。” 芝加哥论坛报的Paul Gapp先生也曾说过:“约翰·波特曼二世是美国健在的建筑师中最具影响力的一位。”他还补充说:“无数建筑师都曾模仿过他,但音乐调子就是不一样。”

波特曼最著名的是他的城市综合建筑,他把对人的理解以及人们对空间的反应转化成了改善的环境和得奖建筑。从旧金山恩巴克德罗中心,纽约时代广场到新加坡玛丽娜中心和中国的上海商城,他在拥挤的城市生活中创造了令人们精神开放和升华的环境。从1953年他的第一个项目开始,在此项目中他首次委托他人创作了雕塑,他承诺把艺术结合在他所有的项目中,从而使艺术成为这些建筑成功不可缺少的部分。亚特兰大的市民继续欣赏他对艺术的贡献,从他委托Olivier Strebelle为桃树中心大街创作的壮观的铜狮到桃树大街上Paul Manship高大的跳芭蕾的奥林匹亚。

他对艺术的热爱体现在他所做的全部事物中。他支持艺术事业并且收藏艺术品。同时,他自己也是一位画家和雕塑家。目前正在世界各地巡展的亚特兰大 High艺术博物馆展览,约翰•波特曼:艺术和建筑(2009年10月 -2010年4月)包括了从1981年以来由波特曼创作的约55件艺术作品,其中大多数作品从未公开展出过。1997年,他被纽约国立学院-博物馆和美术学院聘为院士。 1996年他被Angel Oransanz基金会选为莫德纳国际艺术评委会委员。他还是亚特兰大艺术学院董事会成员,亚特兰大艺术协会的荣誉理事和亚特兰大High艺术博物馆的董事。他的母校,乔治亚理工学院在1986年颁与他学校的最高荣誉-杰出成就奖。2014年,学校以他的名字命名了捐赠系主任席位。哈佛设计研究生院也以他的名字命名了一个教职席位。 他无数的建筑奖项中包括2009年高层建筑和都市居住环境委员会颁发的终身成就奖。1981年亚特兰大建筑师协会颁发的设计创新银质勋章和1978年美国建筑师学会为酒店设计创新颁发的美国建筑师协会会员勋章。

有六本书介绍了波特曼先生的作品。另外,2011年由Ben Loeterman拍摄的纪录片 “约翰•波特曼,建造的一生”,真实记录了波特曼对建筑,艺术和生活的看法。

约翰•波特曼三世

1948年11月3日 – 2020年8月28日

他是一名富有远见的建筑师,慈爱的父亲,宠溺的祖父,充满激情的艺术家和开拓进取的商人。杰克于1948年11月3日在乔治亚州亚特兰大市出生,他是著名建筑师约翰·卡尔文·波特曼二世和简·波特曼的儿子。杰克毕业于亚特兰大洛维特(Lovett)学校高中部,随后获得了乔治亚理工学院的建筑学士学位和哈佛大学设计研究生院的建筑硕士学位。他于1973年在约翰·波特曼建筑设计事务所开始其建筑职业生涯,从一名实习建筑师成长为现名为波特曼建筑设计事务所的董事长.

在这里阅读更多

杰克在他的父亲,约翰·波特曼二世2017年过世后接过了波特曼建筑设计事务所的领导权。杰克是一位极为成功的房地产开发商,同时他对作为一名建筑师也充满了热情,特别是创作与当地文化相呼应的有意义的建筑设计作品。他曾经说过,“建筑师面临的挑战是创作一些与它所处环境相匹配的东西。”在波特曼公司近50年的职业生涯中,杰克是公司国际化拓展的先锋,帮助企业转变成如今的全球地产设计和开发公司。

最值得关注的是,在中美两国重建外交关系后,杰克是最早认识到太平洋地区市场巨大潜力的第一批美国商人之一。1979年1月,杰克前往上海,北京和杭州考察在中国的潜在商机。杰克想办法与适当的人士接触,探索新的合作良机。他的努力成就了上海商城的设计和开发,这是几十年来在中国由一个不是华人,而是外国建筑师和开发商承担的第一个项目。这个他最喜爱的项目 -上海商城,代表着毅力和外交的胜利,它与当地文化相融又具对未来的远见,它成为现代中国建筑业快速发展的催化剂。

在他漫长的职业生涯中,杰克成为美国建筑师在中国的交流使者。他是这种在全世界从业的成功方法的执行先锋,他沉浸在当地文化中,学习普通话,秉承协作并进的精神建立良好的关系。为表彰杰克在美国建筑师协会(AIA)的资深地位,协会公认他是AIA全球扩展愿望的体现,是建筑业的一个喉舌,并且是帮助其他会员发展的宝贵资源。他在亚洲远见卓识的领导力大大提升了亚特兰大在全球市场中作为睿智参与成员的形象。

在中国的成功促进了公司在印度和其它地区的项目发展,包括在美国各地的其它项目,波特曼建筑设计事务所在继续展示他们与时俱进的设计才能。尽管杰克猝然离去,但他为公司留下了坚实的发展基础,公司在亚特兰大和上海都有蓬勃发展的办公室。波特曼建筑设计事务所在资深合伙人的领导下正在不断壮大,活跃在建筑设计界,这些合伙人都有与约翰和杰克·波特曼的工作经历。杰克最感振奋的可能是公司年轻的建筑才俊,他形容他们刚从学校毕业就已准备好为公司的发展大展拳脚。

近年来,杰克帮助哈佛大学设计研究生院建立了建筑学杰出客座教席,来纪念他的父亲。约翰·波特曼建筑客座教席为哈佛大学设计研究生院创造了特别的良机,把国际上公认的设计师持续邀请到校园,参与到哈佛的教学生活中,同时支持研究,展览和出版物的发行。另外,杰克还在哈佛大学设计研究生院系主任领导委员会董事会和乔治亚理工学院中国基金会中任职,并且还是北卡罗莱纳州大学教堂山校长全球领导委员会的成员。

杰克在家里和朋友中以调皮的幽默感,无可挑剔的独特风格,对设计的热爱及慷慨大方而著称。他最喜欢所有的孩子和孙子女,及他们的配偶,密友,齐聚在后院,闲聊和欢笑。经常会有孙儿辈来打断大人间的谈话,求“杰克爹爹”和他们一起玩,他都会满足他们的要求。“杰克爹爹”是最有趣的。他的每个孙辈都知道他会同意任何事,特别是第二块(或第三块)甜点,一次即兴的绘画课或一次已远超睡觉时间的令人兴奋的游览。杰克是一个求知欲很强的读者及充满热情的艺术家,他一生都热衷于学习,绘画和全球旅行 –他认为这是他最重要的教育经历 – 他一直与有幸成为他生命一部分的不断扩大的成员分享这些果实。

杰克是一个自豪的父亲,他养育了Joannah Portman Daley, Alissa Portman Beard, John C. Portman IV, Easan Everly Portman和 Eres Ever Invicta Portman。除了五个孩子外,杰克身后还留下了他的母亲琼“简”波特曼,他的兄弟姐妹Michael Portman, Jeff Portman, Jana Portman Simmons 和 Jarel Portman,五个孙子女Emerson Daley, Holden 和 Amelia Beard,  John Calvin Portman V 和 Everett Portman,及无数亲戚和挚友。杰克的弟弟Jae Portman和他的父亲约翰·卡尔文·波特曼二世已先他而去。波特曼家族将举办一个小型的私人纪念仪式,家人建议用捐赠的方式来代替花,把纪念捐赠品赠与艺术报(Art Papers),安德鲁·杨(Andrew J. Young)基金会或其他您选择的慈善机构。

Cross

IN MEMORY OF

Pioneering architects, entrepreneurs, artists and philanthropists, John C. Portman, Jr. and John C. “Jack” Portman, III changed the skylines of cities around the world and impacted the lives of many in Atlanta and abroad. While our hearts are heavy, we are honored to continue in their legacy and memory.

JOHN C. PORTMAN, Jr.

December 4, 1924 – December 29, 2017

We are saddened by the passing of our founder, John C. Portman, Jr. at the age of 93.

Read more
R

Recognized throughout the world for his innovative design, John Portman did not always follow traditional paths. Always eager to try new concepts, early in his career he pioneered the role of architect as developer to allow more freedom in implementation of his design concepts. His keen business sense and entrepreneurial spirit enabled him to develop many profitable projects.

His impact is greatest on his hometown of Atlanta where today the 14-block Peachtree Center complex attests to his commitment to the downtown business district and includes many of his landmark projects. Peachtree Center began in 1960 with the opening of the Atlanta Merchandise Mart. The Mart has since grown to become AmericasMart, the world’s largest single wholesale marketplace. By stimulating trade and tourism, Portman was the catalyst that established Atlanta as one of the nation’s premiere convention cities. His three major downtown hotels, the Hyatt Regency, Westin Peachtree Plaza, and Marriott Marquis, anchor the convention district. From the opening of the Hyatt Regency in 1967, with its 22-story atrium, Portman made architectural history and won international acclaim. Paul Goldberger of The New York Times wrote “He (Portman) is the only architect of his era to create not only a series of significant buildings, but a new urban type.” Paul Gapp of The Chicago Tribune wrote at the time, “The most influential living American architect is John Calvin Portman, Jr.” further adding “Countless other architects have copied him but the music just isn’t the same.”

Portman was best known for his urban mixed-use complexes wherein his understanding of people and their response to space translates into enhanced environments and award-winning architecture. From Embarcadero Center in San Francisco and Times Square in New York to Marina Square in Singapore and Shanghai Centre in China, he has taken people away from the congestion of urban life to create spaces that are open and uplifting to the human spirit. Since his first project in 1953 where he personally made his first sculpture commission, he was committed to incorporating art in all his projects, thereby making art an integral part of their success. The people of Atlanta continue to enjoy his contributions to the arts, from the magnificent bronze lions by Olivier Strebelle he commissioned for Peachtree Center Avenue to Paul Manship’s towering Ballet Olympia on Peachtree Street.

His love of art is evident in all that he did. He supported the arts, he collected, and he, himself, was a painter and sculptor. The High Museum of Art Atlanta exhibit, John Portman: Art & Architecture (October 2009 – April 2010), currently on tour throughout the world, includes approximately fifty-five works of art created by Portman since 1981, most of which have never been exhibited in public. In 1997, he was inducted as an Academician of the National Academy – Museum and School of Fine Arts in New York. In 1996, the Angel Orensanz Foundation elected him Member of the Senate of the Accademia Internazionale d’Arte Moderna. He served as a board member of the Atlanta College of Art, and was Trustee Emeritus of the Atlanta Arts Alliance. He also served as a Director of the Atlanta High Museum of Art. The Georgia Institute of Technology, his alma mater, presented him their highest honor, the Exceptional Achievement Award in 1986 and then, in 2014, named the endowed Dean’s chair at the College of Architecture after him. Harvard Graduate School of Design also has a chair named for him. His numerous architectural awards include a lifetime achievement award from the Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat in 2009, the Silver Medal Award in 1981 from the AIA Atlanta Chapter for innovative design, and AIA Medal in 1978 from the National American Institute of Architects for innovations in hotel design.

Mr. Portman’s work has been featured in six major books. Additionally, the 2011 documentary, John Portman, A Life of Building, by Ben Loeterman, captures Portman’s approach to architecture, art and life.

JOHN C. "JACK" PORTMAN, III

November 3, 1948 - August 28, 2020

“The challenge of the architect is to do something that seems to belong where it is situated.”

Read more
S

Son of famed Atlanta architect John Calvin Portman Jr. and Jan Portman, Jack was born November 3, 1948 in Atlanta, Georgia. Jack graduated from The Lovett School in Atlanta, then earned a Bachelor of Architecture from the Georgia Institute of Technology and a Master of Architecture from Harvard University’s Graduate School of Design. He began practicing architecture in 1973 at John Portman & Associates, rising from an Apprentice Architect to become Chairman of the firm, now known as Portman Architects.

Jack took over leadership of Portman Architects following the death of his father, John C. Portman Jr., in 2017. Throughout his nearly 50-year career with the Portman Companies, Jack pioneered their international expansion, helping to transform the enterprises into the globe-spanning real estate design and development firms that they are today. Most notably, Jack was one of the first American businessmen to recognize the enormous potential of the Pacific Rim markets in the wake of the reestablishment of diplomatic relations between the U.S. and China.

In January 1979, Jack traveled to Shanghai, Beijing, and Hangzhou to investigate possible business opportunities in China. Jack worked to get in front of the right people to open minds to new possibilities. His efforts led to the design and development of Shanghai Centre, the first project in China to be undertaken by a foreign architect and developer who was not ethnically Chinese in decades. His all-time favorite project, Shanghai Centre represented a triumph of perseverance and diplomacy, harmonized cultural references with a vision of the future, and served as a catalyst in the rapid evolution of the practice of architecture in modern-day China.

Over the course of his long career, Jack became something of an ambassador for American architects in China. He pioneered a successful approach to practicing internationally by immersing himself in the culture, learning Mandarin, and building relationships based on a spirit of cooperation and collaboration. In awarding Jack fellow status within the American Institute of Architects (AIA), the organization recognized him as the embodiment of the AIA’s desire to expand the institution’s reach globally, provide a voice for the profession, and serve as a resource to aid the advancement of other members. His visionary leadership in Asia significantly boosted Atlanta’s image as a savvy player in the global marketplace. Success in China led to work in India and beyond, including additional projects across the United States, where Portman Architects continue to prove their progressive design talents. Despite his sudden departure, Jack leaves the firm on solid footing with thriving offices in Atlanta and Shanghai.

Portman Architects is growing and active under the leadership of long-standing principals who benefitted from experience working with both John and Jack Portman. Jack was perhaps most excited about the firm’s talented young architects who he characterized as coming out of school well-equipped to contribute in a big way right from the start.

In recent years, Jack has been instrumental in the establishment of a distinguished visiting professorship in architecture at Harvard GSD in honor of his father. The John Portman Visiting Chair in Architecture creates a special opportunity for Harvard GSD to bring internationally recognized designers to campus in a sustained role, and to engage in the life of Harvard while supporting research assistance, exhibitions, and publications. Additionally, Jack served on the board of Harvard GSD Dean’s Leadership Council & Georgia Tech China Foundation and was a member of the University of North Carolina (UNC) Chapel Hill Chancellor’s Global Leadership Council.

Jack was well known amongst family and friends for his mischievous sense of humor, impeccably unique style, love of design, and his exceptional generosity. He loved nothing more than when all of his children and grandchildren, along with spouses and close friends, joined him in the backyard, chatting and laughing. Often a grandchild would interrupt the adult conversation, begging “Daddy Jack” to play with them, and he always did. “Daddy Jack” was the most fun. Each of his grandkids knew that he would be up for anything, especially a second (or third) dessert, an impromptu painting session, or some exciting excursion way past bedtime. A voracious reader and a passionate artist, Jack pursued a lifelong enthusiasm for learning, painting, and traveling the world—experiences he considered his most important education—and he always shared the fruits of these passions with the ever-growing number of people who were fortunate enough to be a part of his life

Jack was a proud father to Joannah Portman Daley, Alissa Portman Beard, John C. Portman IV, Easan Everly Portman, and Eres Ever Invicta Portman. In addition to his five children, Jack is survived by his mother, Joan “Jan” Portman; his siblings, Michael Portman, Jeff Portman, Jana Portman Simmons and Jarel Portman; five grandchildren, Emerson Daley, Holden and Amelia Beard, and John Calvin Portman V and Everett Portman; and countless more relatives and cherished friends. Jack was preceded in death by his younger brother Jae Portman and his father, John Calvin Portman Jr. The family is holding a small private memorial service and, in lieu of flowers, suggests that memorial contributions be made to Art Papers, the Andrew J. Young Foundation or another charity of your choice.