波特曼建筑设计事务所任命罗伯特·霍尔沃森为公司首席执行官和董事长

11.09.2020

亚特兰大 – 2020年11月9日 – 波特曼建筑设计事务所,这家拥有67年历史,总部位于亚特兰大的顶尖建筑设计公司,今天宣布罗伯特·霍尔沃森(AIA会员, NCARB成员)将同时继任公司首席执行官和董事长职位。霍尔沃森于2007年加入公司,公司原名约翰·波特曼建筑设计事务所,之前他曾供职纽约的戴维斯·布罗迪公司及SOM公司,担任设计和项目管理工作。

他毕业于耶鲁大学和雪城大学,是雪城大学建筑学院顾问委员会的成员,同时他还是乔治亚理工大学设计学院执行顾问委员会的成员。霍尔沃森先生有美国八个州的从业执照。他的领导才能在指导亚特兰大总部和上海公司提供精良设计及高质量项目中得到体现。

霍尔沃森的任命得到了波特曼建筑设计事务所董事会的支持,董事会成员包括副董事长米奇·斯坦伯格;财务主管格雷戈·博茨;秘书和外聘律师梅森·卡吉尔;及董事会成员高登·贝克曼。对波特曼建筑设计事务所正在推进的业务,霍尔沃森说:“我们公司已在亚洲开展业务逾30多年,开发了许多精美的项目并建立了很多紧密的合作关系。 亚洲和美国项目的最主要区别之一是项目的规模。

一般,亚洲的项目规模都非常大。我参与的在韩国的第一个项目是仁川151塔楼,这是当时世界上第二高楼,一栋建在填海造地基地上的151层塔楼。 所有的客户都希望得到精彩的设计,但不是所有的客户对建筑系统,这些大型项目如何独立出售,租户定制设计,及其他内容都有相同的想法。在美国,项目的规模一般较小,但优质设计和运作是同样重要的。” 2020年,霍尔沃森接手掌管了公司在亚特兰大,芝加哥,盐湖城,西雅图和中国各地不断开拓的正在开发和施工的多种用途项目。 “我们所面临的挑战是弥补限制条件和精良设计之间的差距,打造波特曼建筑设计事务所著名的独特标志性设计作品。提供最佳设计始终是我们为客户服务的目标,”他说。

自从搬到亚特兰大后,霍尔沃森就直接与约翰·波特曼先生一起研究最新的设计,审阅原始图纸和详图,调查实际建造的成果。其后,无论是美国项目还是海外项目,他与公司上一任董事长杰克·波特曼先生继续保持这种工作关系。今天,罗伯特·霍尔沃森将承担这些新职责,引领波特曼建筑设计事务所在2021年及未来继续有条不紊的开展业务。

Portman Architects Names Robert Halverson Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Board

11.09.2020

Atlanta – November 9, 2020 – Portman Architects, the 67-year leading architectural design firm based in Atlanta, today announces the succession of Robert Halverson, AIA, NCARB, to the dual positions of Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Board. Halverson started his tenure at the firm formerly known as John Portman and Associates in 2007, after working in design and Senior project management at Davis Brody and Skidmore, Owings and Merrill in New York.

He is a graduate of both Yale and Syracuse University, the latter at which he sits on the advisory board at the School of Architecture. He also serves on the executive advisory board at the School of
Design at Georgia Institute of Technology. Halverson is licensed to practice in eight states. His leadership is defined by a command of design excellence and a passion to deliver high quality across the practice, with locations headquartered in both Atlanta and Shanghai.

Halverson’s appointment is supported by the Portman Architects Boards of Directors, comprised of Mickey Steinberg, Vice Chairman; Greg Botsch, Treasurer; Mason Cargill, Secretary and Outside Council; and Gordon Beckman, board member. Of his progressive work at Portman Architects, Halverson says: ”Our company has been practicing in Asia for more than 30 years and has developed a great many projects and relationships. One of the major differences between working in Asia and working in the States has to do with size of the projects in which we are involved.

Typically in Asia the projects are very large. The first project I was involved with in Korea was Incheon 151, the second tallest tower in the world at the time, a 151-story tower on reclaimed land. All clients desire great design, but not all clients think the same with regard to building systems, how these large projects will be sold independently, tenant customization, and beyond. Projects here in the states are typically smaller in scale, and equally as important with regard to design excellence and execution.” In 2020, Halverson assumes the helm of the firm’s expanding multiuse projects in development and under construction in Atlanta, Chicago, Salt Lake City, Seattle, and throughout China. “The interesting challenge is bridging the gap between limitations and great design and achieving the unique iconic designs Portman Architects is famous for. Achieving the best design possible with all of our projects is always our intent with all of our clients,” he states.

From the beginning of his move to Atlanta, Halverson worked directly with John Portman on his newest designs, reviewing original drawings and details and investigating what was actually built. He maintained this working relationship with Jack Portman, the firm’s most recent chairman, both stateside and abroad. The continuity and progression of Portman Architects into 2021 and beyond is the purview that Robert Halverson assumes with these new working titles.