Congratulations to the 2018 Portman Prize winners

The Portman prize is an annual competition that was established in the year 2000 by John Portman & Associates to foster design excellence and student creativity in the School of Architecture at Georgia Tech. It is awarded through competition by a distinguished jury chaired by the Portman Visiting Critic who also participates over the semester as a roving design studio critic and public lecturer. The competition jury bestows ranked prizes, each carrying monetary awards. The top prize winner is also offered a summer internship in the office of John Portman & Associates. The Portman prize was presented at the end-of-semester awards on Friday, April 27th.

John Portman & Associates would like to congratulate the winners of the 2018 Portman Prize: Marco Ancheita, Emily Wirt and Stephanie Wright.

This year students were tasked with creating a design for three separate sites located in and around Georgia’s Chattahoochee-Oconee National Forest. The teams were to propose a landscape, construction system, and shelter that demonstrate a transformative approach to architecture, construction, and ecology.

The Portman Prize brings some of the most distinguished architects from across the country to serve as jurors. This year’s architect Billie Faircloth, AIA, LEED AP BD+C served as the visiting critic. Rob Halverson, AIA, NCARB, and Vice President at John Portman & Associates was part of this year’s jury panel.

For over a decade, Georgia Tech and John Portman & Associates have partnered to advance the values of vision, creativity, and an entrepreneurial spirit, which are the fundamentals of Portman’s human-centered design philosophy through the Portman Prize.